Isaac B.

Project # 2: JMB Inspiration Design

In Uncategorized on April 30, 2011 at 11:14 pm

When creating this poster I decided to take my inspiration from the graphic designer Josef Müller-Brockmann. His simplicity and use of the grid system and the Swiss Style of design have appealed to my interests as a graphic designer. As a designer, I like to keep things simple and beautiful at the same time, and that is what I believe Josef Müller-Brockmann tried to do as well. With this design I decided to create a movie poster for the new Tron Legacy film that came out this year. I chose this topic because I love watching movies and, apart from the horrible plot, I really enjoyed the visual beauty of the film, the colors and the visual effects. So I decided to use Brockmann’s style in my design and, as you can see, I incorporated his use of the Helvetica (Akzidenz Grotesk) font in my piece and I also mimicked his Akari poster and the way he positions his text (flush-left or flush-right).

This design has opened me up to a new way of designing. I have learned that it is always good to look back at what artists did in the past and to learn from them. Design has been around for a long time, and we have had many years to develop the craft. So it is important not to underestimate what has been done in the past because the chances are that whatever it ideas we are thinking up today have already been thought of 50 years ago.

Leave a Reply

